Some people are of the view that hobbies need to be difficult for people to be able to enjoy them well. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement? Write your answer with a minimum of 250 words and give relevant examples.

There is an extensive variation of hobbies that people can choose from, to do in their leisure time. Some hobbies are indeed more difficult to be done than others. Hence, some people think that the level of happiness that people obtain in doing a hobby can be measured by the hardness level of the hobby itself. Although I agree that sometimes it creates a greater pleasure to oneself from solving a difficult task compare to an easy one, this point of view could not be applied similarly to hobbies. Hence, I have to disagree with the statement and this essay will provide several examples. To begin with, hobbies are created for someone to relax after a long and stressful day at work. Hence, the purpose of a hobby is to bring happiness and relax one’s mind. Some people have simple hobbies, such as watching TV, taking a nap, or cooking. While others might have some more extreme hobbies such as hiking or diving. Although it is obvious that the difficulty level of these activities is different, it does not mean that extreme hobbies give more enjoyment. For example, people who love hiking will gladly spend a weekend hiking for 50 km even though they are required to go back to work in the next few days, and it will bring them greater pleasure compared to just relaxing at home. On the other hand, if we ask someone who hates hiking to do this, the result would backfire. Hence, to conclude, even though it can be applied to some people, I can not fully support the statement that mentioned that hobby has to be difficult to give people pleasure since it is not applicable to all populations. I believe that some people can find a similar amount of happiness by sitting at home watching Netflix as well as someone who goes to the mountain.