The government should allocate more funding to teaching sciences rather than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree?

I am of the personal belief that governments should prioritise the allocation of more funding to science over other subjects in order to promote the development and improvement of a country. Basically, I believe that advances in scientific knowledge and technological innovation have a profound impact on economic growth. This, I suppose, can be best exemplified by the fact that in a study carried out by the University of Shahid Beheshti in the city of Tehran in 2007 on scientific literacy, it was seen that by prioritising funding for science literacy, a country develops a skilled workforce capable of driving innovation, which leads to the development of new industries and the creation of jobs. Furthermore, it can be said that by emphasising science education, countries are equipping their citizens with the knowledge and skills needed to contribute to scientific research, technological advancement, and innovation, and I cannot but agree with such an opinion, as best illustrated by an article written in Government Magazine, in which it was stated that in an increasingly globalised world, countries should strive to remain technologically competitive. Finally, I would like to conclude by saying that a number of critical challenges facing societies today, such as climate change, energy scarcity, and health issues, require scientific understanding and solutions. By increasing funding for science education, governments are preparing people to address critical challenges effectively, leading to societal progress. For example, according to Dr John Kersey of Harvard University, "Government should promote a scientifically literate population to address complex challenges and contribute to national progress. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned argument, I must reiterate that I believe that the government should provide a significant amount of funding for science education over and above other subjects in order to develop and progress a country.