TOPIC 3: Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase his popularity?

Although riding a bicycle is so clearly a good way to protect the environment, not many people around the world prefer this type of vehicle. There are a number of reasons for this trend and various measures could be taken to improve the issue. To begin with,there are two main underlying explanations for the uncommon use of bicycles. Firstly, it would consume a considerable amount of time to travel by this means of transport. Modern life is getting much busier than in the past, individuals nowadays people want to save travel time by using other types of vehicles such as motorbikes or cars. Secondly, cycling is more physically demanding than riding a motorbike or driving a car. This tends to discourage people from choosing this method, especially on sunny days or when they have to move long distances. There are a couple of tactics that governments could use to promote the use of bikes. Firstly, the governments could impose higher taxes on fuel prices which would discourage many people from using cars. With the increase in fuel prices, people will choose the bicycle as their principal means of transport. Secondly, more lanes should be built to serve only cyclists. It provides comfort for cyclists as well as makes it much faster to travel with bicycles. In conclusion, I believe that the leading causes of biking being not popular are its slowness and request to force users and tax imposition and plans to build bike lanes are conducive to the promotion of biking.