Mobile phone and the internet could have many benefits for old people. However, this age group uses technology the least. What are the benefits for old people of using mobile phones and the internet? How can we encourage them to use this new technology?

The world has made massive progress in the field of communication and technology. Mobile phones and the internet provide numerous benefits to people of all age groups. However, it may be most useful to the elderly generation. Sadly, this generation uses these phones the least. This essay will discuss the various benefits of this technology and will also provide solutions to increase technological engagement among older folk. To point out the benefits, the use of mobile phones can help with boredom and loneliness. The majority of the crowd in this age group are retired and usually have a lot of time to kill.The usage of the internet with apps like WhatsApp and Facebook might keep them entertained and busy. For instance, a sixty-five-year-old granny can listen to her favourite music, hear religious sermons or play anything of her interest to avoid the feeling of loneliness. These portables are also advantageous as they contain numerous apps to help the old crowd to inculcate a hobby. For instance, many people in their late 50s and early 60s are interested in gardening. There are various applications available on these machines which can help them perfect their skills. Thus, with the help of their machines, the older generation can spend their time more productively. There are various simple steps that can be taken to encourage this. The younger generation can help the most. Every household has at least one aged person who needs help with using their technological devices. The younger generation should step in and explain these processes patiently. If the elder person's needs are met and if he or she is dealt with patiently, there will be an obvious increase in their usage of these devices. To give an example, I tend to teach my grandmother a new application every day on her phone which in turn is making her more tech-friendly by the day. Another step to help the problem can be taken by the mobile phone companies. Efforts should be made to launch phones which are designed especially for the use of the elderly. Many of these older users have weak eyesight and cannot hear properly. Thus, dial should be designed to suit their needs and make their experience more user-friendly. Some companies like Nokia are already setting an example. Nokia has introduced dial for the elderly with high-volume rings and low brightness which has increased the usage of Nokia products among the older generation. In conclusion, one has to remember that science makes inventions for the benefit of the entire society. These aged citizens are also an integral part of our ecosystem. Their needs and wants should not be ignored and must be met with equal importance.