News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influcence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news, and would it be better if more good news was reported?

Nowadays, our lives are surrounded by constant events, some of them are newsworthy, while others do not. The information that is shown on television and printed in the newspapers are the selected events which are considered interesting for others to know, and this decision is made by the news editors. Some news is bad and some are good. In my opinion, there are many factors that influence the news selection. Firstly, the news is made to provide the most current pieces of information. Hence, it can be both sad and happy news depending on the urgency. For instance, when we live during the COVID period, it was obvious that we received a big amount of bad news from the internet such as the number of dead persons. However, when vaccines started to be developed, we see an increment in good news from all over the world. Therefore, I do not think that we are getting used to knowing about the bad news. It is just that the most urgent news is often not good. Secondly, the news is selected by its importance levels. Hence, I think it would not be beneficial for the community if the news only reported the good ones. For example, if there was a big earthquake occurring and on the same date was a peak of sakura bloom. I do not think that the editor would to the latter information since it was overdrawn by the former one. To conclude, there are many factors that need to be considered when putting news on the TV or in the newspapers, such as the level of urgency and the importance. In addition, this essay also agrees that bad and good news needs to be equal.