There are millions of counterfeit products bought and sold each year worldwide, including fake brand name shoes, electronics and cosmetics. What are the reasons for this, and what are the solutions? Use explanations and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays, it is very easy for people to buy fake and imitated products. Hence, the sales numbers are continuously increasing throughout the years. I believe there are various factors that can be responsible for this incident. This essay will provide some explanations to support my opinion. To begin with, people who live the current lifestyle are constantly faced with judgement. For example, a university student, who wears branded stuff, is considered beautiful and has more friends. In addition, nowadays, more than 50% of women have to wear make-up before they go out, otherwise they will not feel confident. Although it is understandable that good quality clothes and shoes can boost someone's confidence. However, not all individuals can support this kind of lifestyle. Therefore, the marketing industries started to introduce counterfeit products so that people can look chic without having to spend a lot of money. One of the possible solutions to eradicate this is to give an understanding to the teenager from an early age that people's worth is not valued by their phones or clothes. In addition, we also can introduce our young ones to a group of friends that do not care too much about the brand. For example, when I took an internship program in one of the laboratories in Japan, there is none of them wear anything branded. Yet in my university, almost 80% of students wear branded stuff. To conclude, this essay believes that one of the reasons people buy counterfeit products is because it's cheaper and they are in a position where they have to increase their value. Regarding the solutions, I believe that parents' role toward their loved ones is crucial to prevent this from happening.