Since science and technology are becoming more and more important in modern society, schools should spend more time on teaching these subjects rather on arts and humanities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The fact that great advancement in technology has transformed the way people live can not be denied. Accordingly, many people contend that, in modern societies, teachers should focus on improving technological skills instead of spending quality time on other subjects such as arts and humanities. In my point of view, this argument seems unconvincing for many reasons. To begin with, it is widely accepted that humanities can not be determined as a time-related subject. This is because ethical topics are always crucial in any society, regardless of age, gender and era. Therefore, without possessing commonly held value traits such as honesty, perseverance and loyalty, the world would become an unsustainable place to live in for the next generations. For example, through learning discipline, which is obviously one of the most essential parts of the self-development process, pupils will become more determined and punctual which probably comes in handy in their future careers. Furthermore, driven by studying arts, students become more creative in terms of discourse. This means that they learn to implement their abstract ideas by creating new things with the intention of conveying their personal feelings and imaginations to the public. This process would create a decent atmosphere in classrooms, where children can find and express their best potential through performing artistic tasks collaboratively. For instance, the latest research in England has demonstrated that employees who benefit from artistic skills tend to be more productive in their field of work as their attention span, memory and creativity are trained in schools. In conclusion, although enhancing tech skills and becoming more familiar with the latest equipment, devices and software play an undoubted part in educating new experts for the upcoming world, I am of the opinion that the importance of humane and artistic topics should not be ignored since not only do they play a crucial role in a decent society but also they can enrich such charestrictics in individuals helping them to achieve their occupational goals.