Government spending on restoration of old buildings in cities should be stopped. Instead they should spend the money for housing and road development. Do you agree or disagree?

It has always been argued that authorities are spending taxpayers' hard-earned money on the restoration of old monuments and premises. A few moralist insists to use this money on constructing residential properties for underprivileged people and upgrading countrywide infrastructure. I completely agree with the latter statement, and this essay will explain it with reasons and examples. To get publicity, the politicians are looking to spend excessive amounts of money on renovating old properties like assemblies, parliament houses, and historical buildings. Although it could be helpful for them in winning elections, they are not useful for the general public. Hence, they should spend their budget on introducing cheaper housing facilities for the lower classes. The ex-chief minister of Gujarat, Mr Narendra Modi, for instance, has introduced a Mukhya Mantri Housing Scheme to accommodate people with lower income. Thus, this scheme has drawn the attention of many global politicians and they always praised him for this initiative. In addition, another vital investment could be expanding the infrastructure reach. This will not only improve the transport system but could also enhance the overall economy of the nation. Mr Gadkari, for example, India's current transport minister stated that they are working so hard in building new roads, railways tracks, and bridges with the vision to make India the third largest economy in the world. As a result, India is doing very well despite many developed countries struggling with their economies. To summarize, many governments believe in spending their grants on heritage buildings and monuments, however, it is useless for society. Therefore, in my perspective, this grant should be utilized in enhancing the core infrastructure and providing affordable houses to the lower middle classes, this will lead to making the country grow exponentially.