In nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the numbers? It has

It has been observed that most of the science -based subjects at universities have more male students enrolled than females. In this essay, reasons for this will be discussed, as well as some possible methods to tackle this problem. Firstly, there are several universities that are Operating on the quota-based system which means that there are a specific number of seats allocated to girls and boys, and most of them are reserved for males. As a result, more male candidates gain admissions compared to female candidates resulting in a male population that far exceeds the female population in many science universities. Secondly, many surveys have been conducted that show that primarily men are interested in scientific disciplines while females are more intrigued by the arts. For instance, these days with increasing social media usage, it is evident that female content creators prefer to create content that is mostly focused on beauty and makeup. However, on the other hand, male Youtubers are seen making videos revolving around new scientific discoveries and technology. One of the many ways to tackle this unequal ratio is to increase the number of seats for female students. This will not only enhance their chances of getting admission but also motivate them to take an interest in sciences. Moreover, by organizing science exhibitions, especially in girls-only schools, and spreading awareness regarding the scope and employment prospects of pursuing science disciplines, a positive change can be made and more girls will be interested in scientific fields. To sum up, although there may be more male students currently in science subjects, by implementing changes in admission allocation and employing other methods mentioned above, female students could be motivated to pursue careers in science -related fields.