Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globally, governments are facing a lot of environmental problems due to usage of hydrocarbon fuel. The more fuel is used, the higher the effects of environmental problem. Although a quick solution to lower the fuel usage is to increase the cost of fuel, I disagree with this statement for 2 reasons. Firstly, increasing the cost of fuel will only lead to higher cost of living. Corporations and business owners will absorb the high price of fuel and pass on the high cost back to consumers. This will increase the price of goods and services that they provide as they would need to maintain their profit margin. End users will have to bear the higher cost of living. Secondly, these environmental problems can only be reduced if usage of fuel is reduced. Rather than increasing the fuel price, government must provide the facility and incentives to develop alternatives to fuel. A tax concession for companies that explore and produce alternative energy is a powerful way to do this. It is of great benefit for companies to chase these tax concession to provide alternative fuel to customers, thus decreasing fuel usage while increasing their profits. In conclusion, increasing fuel price will only lead to other problems. Government must look at ways to reduce the fuel usage through exploring alterative fuel, and not by increasing the cost, as this will lead to higher cost of living