Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, an increasing number of languages die out every year. According to a few individuals, this isn't worth paying attention to because the fewer languages we use, the easier we can communicate with each other. This essay disagrees with this opinion by strongly believing that a variety of languages form a rich estate for all human beings and by preserving the minority language, we can diminish the discrimination between different cultures. Firstly, I believe that different languages are reflections of an abundance of cultures. In other words, if the minority languages die out gradually, the whole civilization may lose its abundant diversity. For example, English remains as dominant language globally, however, if all other languages disappear one day, then all we are left is one thinking way of English speaking community. What a great loss it will be! Secondly, it's workable for the government to take action by launching policies associated with preserving dying languages. As a result, it can not only build a friendly society without discrimination but also bring respect to different ethnicities. For instance, In my hometown, Taiwan, the government passed a law by putting the Taiwanese language into the structure of the courses in primary school. By doing so, it allows Taiwanese people to protect their ancestor’s wisdom from extinction. In conclusion, this essay completely disagrees with the opinion that witnessing several languages dying out is not a big deal. On the other hand, I believe it is necessary for the government and people from all walks of life to view it as a detrimental loss of wisdom shared by all human beings. By making policies to preserve minority languages, a more harmonious and dynamic society can be realized in the near future.