Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views.

What students are going to follow after high school will decide their future career, so making a good decision is very important. Many people believe that getting a university or college degree is the best option after finishing school, meanwhile others think that starting with a practical work is more beneficial. In this essay both opinions will be discussed. Nowadays most well-paid and convenient jobs are only available for high educated candidate, that explains why a large group of the community believe that studying at the university is mandatory to achieve success. For instance, a student who will graduate as a dentist, a physician or an engineer will get his dream job so easily, that will lead to a high life quality and better mental and physical health. Thus, the importance of having a diploma in order to have a good career is a common belief among people. However, other people are convinced that working straight after school is the best option. That can be explained by the fact that young people get the chance to gain a lot of experience with a real job rather than following the theoretical traject. Furthermore, a person can never be independent, unless he or she has a stable income, which is mostly not possible to have as a student. Earning money also affords a comfortable life. It is statically shown that in the Netherlands, 50% of people who chose to work have their own cars, in contrast only 7% of students own vehicles. In sum, both working and studying have their own advantages, whereas people will always look at life from different perspectives.