Some people say that to overcome traffic problem, tunnels should be built. What is your opinion?

The boom in the automobile industry has brought with itself the inevitable problem of traffic jams. Some individuals preach that tunnels can be the panacea for this growing enigma of long queues on the road and I am in complete agreement with this view. The chief reason as to why tunnels can provide respite from this issue is the possibility of existence of multiple layers of these underground passages which can cater to the needs of escalating count of vehicles for years to come. What is more, while roads paved on the surface require traffic diversion for their construction, tunnels can be built without putting any halt to transportation. For example, work is being done to establish tunnels in the USA without causing any disruption to the over ground stream of traffic. Another noteworthy aspect associated with underground roads is the absence of any foot traffic, and these roads can be planned in such a manner that slow moving traffic is allotted separate pathways as it would assist in speeding the movement of other vehicles. Furthermore, since tunnels will be devoid of any intersection, this would result in no choke point, which is a common sight on the conventional roads. Thus, it can be stated without any doubt that these underground conduits can speed up travel time to a great extent. In summation, tunnels have numerous advantages such as the convenience of laying multiple layers and absence of pedestrians among others, which cannot be observed for roads built overground. Hence, the gordian-knot of ever-growing traffic jams can be resolved using tunnels.