Some people belive that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Other argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinión

The great German philosopher Schopenhauer famously quoted that " life is suffering" and he delved most of his time into formulating why life is such and how to deal with it. Schopenhauer is among some who believe that one must accept the misfortunes of life in order to be able to solve them, while another camp states that the acceptance of them suffice. In my opinion, acceptance is part of dealing with an obstacle, then we must try to remove them to the best of our capabilities. In this essay, I will try to illustrate the point of view of both groups, expand on my own opinions and draw a conclusion based on them. On the one hand, it is imperative to understand that suffering is part of life. Even the most wealthy and powerful still possess some problems. For instance, it is recently revealed that Elon Musk, probably the richest man alive, is suffering from clinical depression. Hence, the belief of the group is that acknowledging the obstacles of life can liberate you from the shackles of unsatisfactory situations. Additionally, these people agree with Attar of Nishapour that " this too shall pass". Therefore, they do not believe that any action but waiting is required in such an unfortunate condition. On the other hand, others state that although acceptance is of utmost importance when facing such obstacles, it is essential for an individual to pass them if he/she desires to thrive. Grasping for excellence is fundamental to human nature and it cannot be reached by only acceptance. For example, and I do believe myself, that remaining in an unsatisfactory job only worsens the mental state of the unfortunate individual as problems are not solved but multiplied by the passage of time. Thus, avoiding additional problems by accepting and solving the previous ones is the only logical solution. To conclude, it is the common view that misfortunes of life must be acknowledged and accepted. Nonetheless, actions must be taken to solve them after this initial step. Otherwise, I believe that problems will add up to the point that dealing with them is not an option.