Some people think that a person improves intellectual skills better when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

It is often argued that one can improve intellectual skills more effectively when doing group activities. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this viewpoint, which will be demonstrated in the following essay. To begin with, group work is beneficial for intellectual development in that it increases the progress of learning. To be specific, when stumbled upon a new field or topic, instead of researching one aspect at a time, the work can be distributed to multiple individuals at once, hence giving people more insightful knowledge about the project in a considerably short period of time. In addition, group work also helps to reduce mental strength as more people involved means less workload per person, which in the long run can prevent individuals from burning out and be able to sharpen their intellectual skills more frequently. Finally, during group activities, people can check and correct each other’s mistakes and blindspots, hence greatly reducing the chances of misinformation and misunderstandings as they approach more advanced or sophisticated topics or subjects. However, those who support individual work for intellectual skills claim that group work may cause distractions due to conversations at times, which can reduce learning concentration as well as prevent individuals from making use of their own intelligence to work out the task or problem. Although this point boasts some truth on the surface, it pales in comparison to the benefits that group work brings to intellectual development. Indeed, sometimes it is by exchanging ideas that people manage to find a new solution to counter their problem. Therefore, in order to maximize focus during group activities, people should only talk about related subjects and avoid speaking loudly, joking or off-topic matters. When it comes to optimizing their intelligence, although working mentally to their highest capacity may give a feeling of fullness and productivity, there is a high chance that people will end up burning out the next time they study, hence becoming inconsistent in their intellectual development. As a result, it is apparent that studying in a group helps people to gain more knowledge consistently compared to learning individually. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that group activities can substantially help to improve intellectual skills.