In nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the numbers?

It has been observed that most universities have more male students enrolled than females. In this essay, the reasons for this will be discussed, as well as some possible methods to tackle this problem will be suggested. Firstly, there are several universities that are operating on a quota-based system which means that there are specific numbers of seats allocated to girls and boys, and most of them are reserved for males. As a result, more male candidates gain admissions compared to female candidates resulting in a higher male population than that of females in many science universities. Secondly, many surveys show that primarily men are interested in scientific disciplines while females are more intrigued by the arts. For instance, these days with increasing social media usage, it is evident that female content creators prefer to make videos that are mostly focused on beauty and makeup. However, male Youtubers are seen making videos revolving around new scientific discoveries and technology. However, there are many ways to tackle this unequal ratio at universities. Foremost among them is to increase the number of seats for female students. This will not only enhance their chances of getting admission but also motivate them to take an interest in sciences. Moreover, by organizing science exhibitions, especially in girls-only schools, and spreading awareness regarding the scope and employment prospects of pursuing science disciplines, more girls can be motivated to pursue careers in scientific fields. To sum up, although there may be more male students currently in science subjects. Nevertheless, by implementing changes in admission allocation and employing other methods mentioned above, female students could be motivated to pursue careers in science -related fields. This will help increase diversity in scientific professions and allow girls to feel more comfortable and empowered in choosing to enter this kind of job in the future.