Although some people say it takes away some of our freedom, smoking should be banned in all public places. Do you agree or disagree?

Passive smoking has been known to cause serious health problems. As a result, many people believe that smoking should be prohibited in public areas. Although there are strong arguments on both sides, I strongly believe that it is crucial to make public smoking illegal. Pro-smoking groups argue that everyone has a right to determine what sort of habits they want to include in their routine. Moreover, it is argued that passive smokers choose to inhale their smoke willingly and can avoid visiting smoking-friendly places. For example, there are many shopping centres and other entertainment places where smoking is prohibited that could be used as an alternative to avoid exposure to smoke. In addition, the ban on smoking is considered by them as a violation of their civil liberties as every individual should have the freedom to smoke wherever they wish. Nonetheless, the interest and health of the majority should be prioritised over that of a small fraction of people. In contrast, those against the argument emphasize the fact that tobacco contains carcinogenic and injurious compounds which can lead to life-threatening cancers such as lung cancer and mouth cancer. Therefore, it is absolutely unfair to impose such ailments on people who have no control over the smoke they inhale. Consequently, these diseases not only cause physical stress but also financial constraints owing to incredibly expensive treatment costs. For example, many people in Pakistan die on a daily basis due to cancer just because they are unable to afford the treatment. In conclusion, I would again restate that public smoking should be completely banned and government should finance to build separate enclosed smoking areas and penalise those who choose to smoke out in public. This will ensure a safe and healthy environment for everyone.