Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The catch-all term " when in Rome, do as the Romans do" has sparked controversy regarding the attitude of visitors in foreign countries. Some individuals assert that travellers should adhere to local customs and behaviour, while others opine that the host country should embrace cultural differences. In my opinion, it is indispensable to find a balance that acknowledges both cultural preservation and the acceptance of differences. This essay will discuss both perspectives and provide an opinion on the matter. To begin with, it is very important to respect the culture of the host nation that a person visits. It means that, travellers have to acquire some knowledge and learn the behaviour and some traditions that are widely accepted there just before travelling. In fact, this study makes one's trip more interesting and can prepare him/her for cultural differences. Some travel agents, for instance, suggest that foreigners dress according to the destination country's tradition, so as to show respect for the place they visit. This will show the traveller's positive attitude towards the culture of the place; therefore, the natives would definitely appreciate such efforts and warmly welcome tourists. On the contrary, accepting visitors from another nation without showing any cultural indifferences helps to bring a sense of trust and understanding. As we all know, tourism serves as the backbone of any country's economy and imposing extremely strict rules by which foreigners are forced to abide may drive them away. In fact when they are welcomed warmly, tourists not only feel at home, but also appreciate the hospitality of the people of the host country. This, in turn, will boost the economy of the nation due to the flourishing travel industry. As an illustration, a recent survey revealed that travellers often prefer going to places which accept diverse cultures. Consequently, for economic benefit, society should receive visitors from diverse cultures warmly. In conclusion, the debate surrounding visitors ' behaviour in foreign community is complex, and in my opinion, both perspectives hold merit. While it is essential for foreigners to respect and adhere to local customs, host countries should also strive to create an inclusive environment that appreciates diversity.