Some people believe that the best way of learning about life is by listening to the advice of family and friends. Other people believe that the best way of learning about life is through personal experience. Compare the advantages of these two different ways of learning about life. Which do you think is preferable? Use specific examples to support your preference.

One of the biggest debates humans have is how to gain knowledge about life. Some people think that following the advice of family and friends is the best way, but experiencing is also believed to be more useful. I personally prefer acquiring my own lessons and I will outline the benefits of these two solutions in this essay. On the one hand, listening to other people's advice seems to be a good way to grow up. The instructions that we received is also gained from their experience in life therefore they are likely to be the best recommendations we can get. If we obey to those, we can avoid such potential problems. For instance, children will have good behaviour when they abide by the essential guidance that their parents gave. On the other hand, experiencing and drawing conclusions on your own is also a good approach. As the society is developing rapidly everyday, some of the advices given by the prior generation can be obsolete therefore those are not appropriate anymore. In addition, life is about experiencing. As one acquire their own's lesson, it is more profound and meaningful to them. Besides that, the more experience you have, the more flexible you will be when you face unexpected trouble. For example, when a baby get burned because of touching boiled water, they will never do that again. In conclusion to the above-mentioned viewpoints, it can be said that both of these two methods are very helpful. But in my opinion, obtaining personal knowledge is the optimal way.