What ar e the advantages and disadvantages of career change?

In this modern society, changing your career is a very common decision. Some believe it is beneficial for both society, as well as the individual, while some are convinced otherwise. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this topic. Let’s begin by looking at the disadvantages. One of the greatest drawbacks of career change is the loss of experts in the field. Most people would have years, if not decades, of work experience in one industry before they switch to another. Take my own experience as an example, I had worked in a meat factory for six years, knowing almost every stage of the production process, before I turned to the health and care sector. When many have done the same, the agriculture industry faced a shortage of experienced labour. There is another disadvantage that can be major is the increasing time and resources required on education and learning. The cost of training burdens both the business involved and the individual. For instance, month-length courses are required for the new employee in some businesses, it can cost thousands of dollars for the business and reduced income for the individual. On the other hand, the potential of bringing new perspectives to the industry is the most significant positive. As mentioned earlier in this essay, most people are knowledgeable in other aspects before they make career changes. Consequently, new perspectives and skills can flow into the new job they are working on. To give an example, a previous builder can share his knowledge in building when he becomes an educator. Moreover, another advantage is to allow people to follow their new passions. Allowing people to go after their new career path, it is likely to maximise their individual growth and keep them motivated. Examples such as the musician, Chris Heria, has built a successful fitness business after he turned his focus into working out and coaching others. In conclusion, both pros and cons can be expected from people changing careers. While there are the risks of losing human resources and increasing the cost of training new joiners, there are the positives of welcoming fresh opinions into the field and encouraging personal fulfilment. In my opinion, I believe the benefits outweigh the negatives as the exchange of refreshing skills and expertise can improve society in general.