In some places, money earned from tourism has become an important part of the economy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of replying on tourism as a major source of revenue.

It is an irrefutable fact that travelling is a major part of modern man's life. Therefore, certain countries rely majorly on tourism for revenue. There are both merits and demerits of this situation which are explained in detail henceforth. There are several compelling advantages of tourist influx in a nation. To begin,with they bring foreign currency and hence promote a foreign exchange of the state which helps to strengthen the economy. Moreover, the government develops better transportation as well as accommodation facilities in order to attract travellers. Hence, in the process generates employment. For instance, countries like Singapore and Malaysia earn maximum revenue via tourism along with the establishment of hotels, restaurants and theme parks natives are employed. Further, the voyagers tend to buy indigenous goods as souvenirs which directly empowers the locals. For example, whenever people visit islands like Miami they purchase items made of seashells or coconut products which are peculiar to that region. On the other hand, tourists introduce foreign species into a new environment either knowingly or unknowingly. This can lead to both endangerment and extinction of domestic species. Hence, to prevent it the authorities have to spend hefty amounts for ensuring no exotic species enter into the community. Besides this, the expeditors might introduce deadly pathogens into a hostile area. For example, the significant cause of the spread of COVID-19 to distant places was tourism. Thus to conclude, we can say despite several advantages such as the empowerment of local inhabitants as well as the influx of foreign currency the fact that tourists insert unseen fatal pathogens into a society and can start epidemics can not be overlooked.