Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which cause many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

It is often said that packed foods and beverages often contain significant amounts of sugar, thereby leading to numerous health issues for consumers. One school of thought holds that those products have to increase their cost in order to discourage people to eat less sugar. I partially agree with this method. This essay will discuss more in detail. On one hand, the notion of increasing sugary product costs is somewhat justifiable. This is because high costs will make consumers consider carefully before deciding whether they should buy these products or allot money to other essential items, namely bread or clothes. As a result, instead of going with instant products, the masses may opt for other sweet fruits, which are not only good for their health but also more cost -efficient. On the other hand, rising product costs may not ensure that people will eat less sugar. To be specific, companies can only rise the cost of products to a certain extent. If they sell irrationally expensive biscuits and candies, they would bankrupt in case of no buyers. Therefore, a small change in cost may not contribute to a low level of sugar consumption. In a nutshell, it is understandable why a host of people subscribe to the idea of increasing the cost of sugary products, however, this method can have a minus point as I mentioned above. For the future, my recommendation is that government should come up with other effective measures such as raising public awareness about excessively consuming sugar.