Many people believe that international tourism has negative implications on their countries. What is the reason for it? What can be done to change the negative attitude towards international tourism?

Many people are unwelcoming towards international tourism due to its negative impacts. This essay will first discuss how stereotypes with some “prove” from the media towards those foreign tourists are the primary cause of such bias and then outline how positive publicity by governments is the most viable solution. One primary cause leading to these bad impressions of international tourism is the bad stereotypes that people hold about foreign visitors. For example, there are some common impressions shared on the internet that Americans are often rude and alcoholic, Chinese are noisy and less aware of the environment or even more exaggerated, they consider those black-skin backpackers tend to immigrate to their countries illegally. Furthermore, many also believe that much damage to the environment is caused by these outside visitors since their media prefers to report this kind of news: the beach, which has abundant foreign travellers, is always full of garbage. With such bias, gradually, they start to think that international travelling which allows these outside visitors to come is the root of all evil. The most effective solution to eliminating this prejudice is to publicize the benefits brought by foreign travel. Many people do not realize that this is an important industry which contributes a lot to their national finance while only paying attention to those negative aspects. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, the Italian government had a drastic financial decline due to the loss of international tourists, it was the first time that some citizens noticed the importance of this industry and many locals spontaneously proclaim that the government should publish more measures to attract visitors from outside. If the government regularly shares these contributions and other positive effects of global tourism, there is a high possibility that locals’ attitudes would change. In conclusion, the poor stereotypes towards people from other countries are the main reason affecting locals to have a bad impression towards international tourism. However, by positive publicity of the benefits that this industry can bring, governments can help ameliorate this bias.