Fresh water is a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, increasing demand has made it a global problem. What are the causes of this growing demand? What can governments and individuals do to respond to the problem?

There are compelling reasons for the shortage of fresh water. The main reason is the overpopulation in the metropolitan areas. The global phenomenon of urbanization has led to a global surge in potable water requirements. Secondly, increased pollution of natural freshwater reserves due to urbanisation and industrialization has compounded this demand. In fact, since the beginning of industrialization, fresh water from rivers and lakes has been increasingly used for manufacturing processes such as chemical reactions, cleaning toxic equipment and so on. Furthermore, in modern times, the growing use of salt-free water for activities like recreational swimming, has also catalysed the surge in global water demand. For instance, swimming pools at home, theme parks, and resorts use an avalanche of water. Therefore, water scarcity has risen and is now a global problem. National authorities, on the other hand, can control this surge by implementing public education schemes regarding controlled water usage. Strict national legislation for preventing natural freshwater reserve pollution is also required. Moreover, the government should also set up infrastructure for the purification of seawater into saline-free water, which will help in meeting the growing requirement for fresh water. A good example is UAE where desalination plants have been used for many years to provide fresh drinking water. Similarly, the public can also contribute towards this noble cause by conserving water and also by limiting their daily household water usage. They should refrain from performing activities that will pollute natural freshwater reserves. Thus even though, the scarcity of fresh water is a growing global problem, there are various means and methods available, by which both the government and individuals can prevent this from worsening.