Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Congestion and air pollution are primary problems every country has to deal with, and the main reason is automobiles using fossil fuels. Some people have an opinion that increasing the price of petrol is the viable solution to solve these issues. Nevertheless, I personally do not agree with this idea. To begin with, the rising prices of gasoline will boost the price of consumer goods, which is basic daily needs for society, such as staples, meats, vegetables, and fruits because this policy will escalate freight cost to bring them from farming areas to urban and other regions and cause inflation. By increasing the price of petrol, which is considered an unpopular policy in some countries consumers’ purchasing power will decrease and lead to a higher poverty rate. However, there are other solutions to solve these major problems. The government need to improve public transportation mode to make them more comfortable for the passengers, for example, prepare more busses or trains to carry them to their destinations on time according to the schedule. Besides, equipping them with an air conditioner or adequate security will attract more people because they are able to carry out other activities during the trip, for instance, listening to music or reading a book. The other viable solution is people should be encouraged to use electric cars, because, unlike fossil fuels cars, this type of vehicle does not use gasoline to run its engines so does not create pollution in the atmosphere. In conclusion, I contend that increasing the price of fossil fuels is not a viable solution to solve traffic jams and pollution, and the government has a crucial role to tackle these problems by improving public transportation modes and encouraging people to use electric cars.