4.Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Global athletics such as World Cup, Olympics, The Grand Slam etc are a few examples of sports that allows the hosting country to either showcase its state of art technological advancement and traditions or expose public relations disaster. This essay will explain the benefits of hosting international sports in a country. First of all, it is important to keep in mind, every detailed activity will be live telecasted by media to the entire world. However, when a nation gets the opportunity to welcome other counties into their hometown, they would want everything to be perfect. Right from the basic needs to the luxury. Athletes of different nations will get a chance to witness the traditions of an inviting country. For example, When the Olympics was hosted in India in the year 2004, the then Prime Minister made all arrangements and the city was lit up lights, and the roads were cleaned and maintained. Apart from the infrastructure, a separate hall was set up to showcase the traditional dance- Kathak and the local food to the world at a large platform. In addition to that, hosting international sports also increases the chances of maintaining good terms and relations with the other member countries. This good relationship will have a politically long-term benefits to each other. For instance, the FiFa Fifa world cup match held in Qatar in 2023, had helped Europe in getting oil from Qatar. This happened only after the matches that were held for 2 months To conclude, Commonwealth games are indeed a platform to show the qualities of the home country, provided the economic conditions are kept in mind and maintained honestly.