Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is thought by some people that students should possess the ability to study any subject they want; others, however, contend that they should solely be permitted to choose, for example, science-related or technology-related ones that are likely to be useful in the future. My firm conviction is that they should be able to study whatever suit them, and therefore, I have to agree almost entirely with the first view. On the one hand, some people believe that students ' options for study should be curbed to just those that might be appropriate for the future. The underlying concept for this assertion is that with many students or graduated students in fields that are more important than others, governments, and therefore, society, would be able to progress more than when there was no restriction on students ' choices. More importantly, they believe if students study science-related subjects, they will have more chances to build a better life since they may be offered better opportunities. On the other hand, some argue that students should study whatever they want; otherwise, they cannot thrive on the subject. More precisely, it would be wrong to overlook the students ' passion because if they did not like their majors, they would not flourish, and hence, society itself would suffer. Not only that, but it would be hard to conceive of a vigorous future for nations if there was not complete harmony between all careers. In other words, in order to guarantee a perfect future, all careers should be nurtured hand in hand. If not, the lack of those which could not flourish would menace governments. In conclusion, even though studying technology-related subjects might be considered better for the future and not only for students but also for society, we cannot afford to underestimate the students ' eagerness for a specific subject and the resulting self-esteem, and the proper balance that should be there for a more promising future. Thus, I would rather students have the freedom to choose their major.