In countries all over the world, the volume of road traffic is increasing at a faster rate than new roads are built. What are the causes of this problem? What are some potential solutions?

Traffic congestion has always been a nagging problem in many countries over the past few decades. Given that this issue has far-reaching effects, both individually and nationally, identifying the reasons behind it is key to finding potential measures. There is a number of reasons why traffic congestion is increasing faster than roads are built. First, overpopulation has been considered one of the primitive causes of the increasing traffic, especially in big cities. For example, the number of citizens in Hochiminh City, Vietnam, has increased significantly in recent years, entailing more accommodations required to house everyone, and therefore, roads are not allowed to be widened even though more people are driving in the city. Second, as the quality of human life has been generally enhanced, cars and bikes become affordable, leading to a much higher number of vehicles on the streets. In fact, streets in many countries, including Vietnam, were originally built only for bikes, not for cars, which have been more commonly used recently. Nevertheless, there are numerous solutions to address the issue. Governments should prioritize to extend and expand roads in densely populated areas and big cities which are usually congested. In fact, since these places accommodate the majority of the workforce and big businesses, the more convenient commutes may help boost the economy. In addition, city officials can put restrictions on cars or other vehicles during peak hours. This would not only ensure lower road congestion but also propel residents to improve their health by walking. In conclusion, although the trend might be difficult to reverse, there are many actionable measures to address it. Coordination among governments and city officials plays an important role in making traffic less congested.