Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Supermarkets are increasing the share of imported goods in their inventory due to several reasons. First, imported products bring in greater profit than local products due to their higher prices. Second, this strategy leads to increased overall sales as the target market is the higher-income class which is consumption-oriented. Lastly, it is difficult to refrain from buying these products when they are readily available, thus, they attract people from other market segments as well. Whether this development is positive or negative can be established after weighing out the benefits it brings to the economy against its disadvantages. The benefits of this approach include the availability of a greater variety of products to the public so that they can raise their standard of living. Additionally, it provides an incentive for foreign investors to set up their businesses in the country with a customer base already established. This will lead to an inflow of foreign capital within the country. Despite the above-mentioned benefits, such a practice will be detrimental to the economy in the long run,especially for developing countries like Pakistan. Taking the example of Pakistan, it has been found that the country is heavily dependent on imports while exports are stagnant since its formation. Therefore, in countries where local items are already facing harsh competition with foreign products, their demand will further decline. This problem will be aggravated if foreign businesses began to dump their low-priced goods in the local supermarkets, as they will have the accessibility to do so. Hence, it is established that supermarkets increasing the sale of imported inventory is a negative development.