Some students prefer to take a gap year between highschool and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking a gap year after graduating from high school and before going to college for particular reasons has become a trend in the last few years for students. In this essay, I will outline the benefits and drawbacks of this issue from various points of view. To begin with, a student deciding to work will earn money that can be used to pay tuition fees and other expenses when they enrol at the university. This will reduce their parents' financial burden amid the escalation of higher education and living cost. Besides, by working or travelling they will obtain new experiences and knowledge, such as cultures, values, and norms to shape their mind more open-minded, which is an invaluable mindset to prepare themselves for the learning process in colleges or socializing in our society. However, this decision also gives disadvantages apart from its advantages. After working months for money, it can make students reluctant to continue their education to a higher level in the university because they already feel so comfortable with their job, and this condition gives detrimental effects on their future. They will miss the opportunities to obtain higher salaries and achieve certain positions in a company or institution. Moreover, by travelling abroad they are vulnerable to toxic environments with someone they know during their trip and committing bad habits they never do beforehand, for example, smoking, drug abuse, and drinking alcohol without restriction. In conclusion, I contend that the decision to take a gap year between high school and university gives more disadvantages than its benefits because it will make students conduct bad deeds outside there and forget their main priority to pursue higher education.