Childhood obesity is becoming a problem throughout the developed world. Because of this, some people think that adverts for fast food, sweets and sugary snacks should not be allowed in schools and colleges. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? Give reasons for answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

Childhood obesity is looming over this generation as it is affecting over fourty four percent of teenagers and pre-teens. Some people believe that banning advertisements for junk food is the only way to stop the crisis. I partially agree with this statement because a ban will not eradicate the problem completely. To begin with, many children are lead to consumption of such snacks because of the heaps of celebrities advertising it. For example Christiano Ronaldo has refused to drink coca-cola during an interview which wound up to losing billions. He has done this to prevent kids seeing such acts on tv, as they are very impressionable. On the other hand, completely banning such promotions in schools and colleges will not stop the problem completely. Many youngsters can view the same ads at home, on their televisions or smartphones. For instance, my younger sister who is 10 years old, upon viewing an advertisement for mac donalds, asked me to take her there. Stopping the spread of the obesity epidemic is not something easy, banning all such promotions is the way to go. To conclude, I think that banning such ads entirely is the only way to solve the task at hand.