Some people feel that courses can make anyone a teacher, while others feel an excellent teacher cannot be made only by pursuing a course. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

One school of thought argues that by undergoing training, anyone can become a teacher while another disagrees and feels being exceptional in the teaching profession goes beyond simply taking certain courses of study. This essay will critically analyse both views and give a concluding view. On the one hand, formal training is required to become a lecturer and this could involve undergoing relevant courses in the university, college of education or any designated educator training institution. This would equip the prospective teachers with the necessary principles and skills that would help them impart knowledge to learners. This is true for several countries around the world. In Nigeria for example, a Bachelor's Degree or a relevant certification is required to teach at any of the levels of education in the country. Any individual parading himself as a tutor in any educational setting without the qualification would be doing so outside the provision of the law. Hence, possessing the necessary certifications can make anyone a schoolteacher. On the other hand, holding some specific training certificates may not suffice to be a teacher. To be candid, having the required qualifications to teach subjects like English Language, Mathematics, Commerce and so on would be an advantage, however, without the passion and drive to get the best out of students, one would simply be an ordinary tutor, miles away from exceptionality. These are courses that require being emotionally mature and academically astute to be able to recognise the differences between a student within the four walls of a classroom and another outside its confines because extrinsic factors such as parental involvement in education, death of a loved one and broken homes significantly impact the understanding of these complex subjects and others. Being able to identify these and using them to redesign learning schedules to suit the needs of each student makes one a good teacher, not merely holding some certificates. To conclude, although teachers can be made simply by passing specific training to make them fulfil theoretical criteria, I am convinced that becoming a great professor requires more than ordinary academic pursuits. An excellent tutor has the desire, zeal and obsession for the best of his student, all traits that cannot be acquired within the four corners of a classroom.