Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Students have contradictory views about whether they should focus on their main curriculum or learn extra subjects. While intensive studying has some perks, I believe it is more helpful if they learn as many things as they can. On the one hand, it is advantageous when undergraduates concentrate on their key topics. This enables them to gain insightful knowledge of what they learn, as they devote all their time to deeper research and proceed with hands-on practice. As a result, they can get good marks at school, pass the exams and graduate according to the time frame. For example, in order to be a doctor, students have to study hard in medication lessons, which is hard for them to have spare time and spirit to study non-related topics. In addition, by working hard on the main subjects and gaining a credit certificate, postgraduates easily find a job and become an expert in their field. On the other hand, the rewards of studying more subjects are many. First, this helps them comprehend more aspects of life which is more or less useful and helpful for them to form an objective view of life. Second, the willingness to learn more themes makes studying less tedious, as they can explore more novel fields rather than brooding on the same thing day after day. Finally, today’s society fancies well-rounded people, and studying more subjects, therefore, provides students with employment prospects later on. For example, if people want to work in a senior position, besides their specialised knowledge, they must have other management skills. In conclusion, my view is that the advantages of expanded studying outweigh focused learning.