The government should invest more money in teaching science than other subjects for a country’s development and progress. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

The advancement of science, and its application in a wide range of areas, has improved the lives of almost everyone around the world. As a result, it is essential that governments should devote additional funds to teaching science, although other subjects still have their importance. The primary reason for this view is that scientific education teaches critical thinking. Science is based on asking questions about the world that can be tested in order to find answers that anyone can find for themselves. Without a sound scientific education, the average person is more likely to believe superstition, old wives’ tales, and the beliefs of their ignorant ancestors, which makes it easier for them to be deceived and taken advantage of by governments and other people in their daily lives. The fact is that developed societies have high levels of scientific knowledge, while less developed ones do not. Of course, it is also necessary for students to study other subjects so that they can become well-rounded individuals. Science helps us to explain the world, but we also have to live in it. Being able to appreciate art, music, and literature helps us to understand each other and lead more satisfying lives. An advanced society needs both science to progress and art to make life worth living. In summary, science helps a nation to advance by allowing its citizens to think independently and make decisions that are supported by evidence. Without a basic understanding of science, the world would be – and was – a much worse place.