All over the world, the number of overweight people is growing. What do you feel are the main causes of this? What are the effects?

Global obesity rates have been swelling for several decades now. This is a trend that is having devastating effects on populations everywhere. Although often debated, it is felt the food a person eats and the lifestyle they live are the base precursors to this problem. In this essay, a look at these causes and their effects will be made. Firstly, diet and lifestyle are the two most major catalysts of obesity. Evidence of this can be seen in any developing country. For example, in China, growing affluence has led people to consume more fast food and live more sedentary lifestyles. This trend moves in tandem with a steady growth in the number of overweight people. Thus, as this makes clear, changing dietary practices and levels of activity are at the root of swelling waistlines. The major effects of this are entirely negative. As evidenced in the United States, growing obesity rates lead to growing rates of diabetes, heart disease and high blood pressure. This has led to the first generation of Americans ever with shorter life expectancies than their parents. Thus, it is clear that these effects need to be countered to enhance the quality of life for future generations. Following this look at the causes and effects of obesity, it is felt that education is the single most important counter to this problem. Thus, it is hoped schools everywhere encourage children to eat a nourishing diet and practice a healthy lifestyle in an effort to change this disturbing global health trend.