The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today's rapidly evolving world, the ever-increasing number of vehicles on our roads warrants our attention. In just over a hundred years, from 1888 to 2000, the number of vehicles on British roads swelled to an astounding 29 million. In light of this fact, I strongly agree with the ongoing debate that alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international law introduced to control car ownership and use. To begin with, the increased number of vehicles on our roads has led to a drastic reduction in road safety. Many people have lost their lives in grisly road accidents over the years. For instance, last year alone traffic road accidents claimed the lives of over 2,000 people in Britain, according to the British Roads Authority. Therefore, the introduction of alternative forms of transport and international laws to curb car ownership and use is necessary to ensure road safety and reduce the number of vehicles on our roads. Secondly, the increased number of vehicles has led to environmental degradation, specifically air pollution caused by the emission of harmful fumes into the atmosphere by vehicles. This environmental issue has direct health implications. For example, the number of people with lung related conditions due to the inhalation of this unhealthy smoke rose from 50% to a 90% high last year, according to a study by the British Lung Health Association. Similarly, 5% of people with lung conditions due to air pollution die every year, according to the same Association. Therefore, a shift to different forms of transport, along with the introduction of strict international laws regarding car ownership and use, would guarantee a cleaner environment, free from pollution caused by vehicle emissions. Lastly, the rise in the number of vehicles on our roads has had a significant negative impact on our economy. The high level of traffic jams on our roads has slowed down the movement of essential goods and delayed the arrival of employees at their places of work. I have witnessed two friends of mine lose their jobs after arriving late due to heavy traffic. Therefore, considering alternative forms of transport, coupled with the implementation of stricter car ownership and use laws, would lead to the growth of the economy. To sum up, the argument to adopt alternative forms of transport and introduce an international law to control car ownership and use is very crucial. It ensures safety on our roads, a clean and safe environment, and a healthy economy. For these reasons, it is imperative that these measures are introduced as quickly as possible.