In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this, and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

It is generally acknowledged that, in today's modern cities, the already high and increasing traffic volume is a major concern for most residents. And the demand for a solution is equally on the rise. Then, what are the causes of this, and what actions can be carried out by the town halls to solve this problem? First of all, let us dive into the main reason leading to this situation, which is the huge immigration that these metropolises have been experiencing during recent decades. Unfortunately, the steep growth of major urban areas was not correctly planned by the administrations, thus an important lack of investment in public infrastructure exists today. Additionally, centralization policies and inadequate communal transportation exacerbate the problem, forcing those who do not live in the city centre to commute by car. Despite these challenges, the opinion that raising the investment in bus and metro lines is the most efficient way to deal with this situation is commonly shared by most experts. Several studies carried out by UPC in Barcelona, show that were the unfinished new underground lines working nowadays, Barcelona's car volume would experience a drop of nearly 25%. More than enough to considerably reduce jams that occur during peak hours and significantly grow the overall street flow. To sum up, if major urban areas improved their public transportation budget, they would experience a substantial drop in traffic volume. Given that most of them lack an adequate transport system and citizens are forced to travel by car.