Some people think that illegal Internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that they have little or no impact on artists. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some individuals that authorized the copying of music from online sites is resulting bad consequences for the business. At the same time, there are others who think it has an insignificant influence on musicians. While net downloads mismatch the copyrights of the artists, I believe it makes them more popular since people do not watch TV very much these days. On the one hand, getting music from online sources illegally brings negative consequences because the authors of musical work invest a lot of money to record their musical products. Undoubtedly their copyrights must be respected and their right of earning money by selling products created by them has to be protected. A recent statistic on the industry shows that in less developed countries such as Armenia, more and more artists are going into bankruptcy because of the problem. On the other hand, unauthorized downloads may have no negative effect on the artists since they may earn money participating in some concerts and one guarantee of being invited to some events is being popular. In the era of the internet, most of the population are using online websites as a mean of entertainment rather than watching TV. It means musicians get popular if their artistic work is downloaded by many individuals. To conclude, it is believed by some people that getting musical products from the web may bring a bad effect on the business whilst others consider that it does not have negative consequences for the authors due to the fact that they may get more popular among the population if their music is downloaded by many individuals.