Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There are several reasons for this occurrence, first of them would be that smartphones are made to be engaging and addictive through all the apps that they gives acces to, this includes social media apps, video games, movie watching platforms etc.The number one priority of these programs is to keep users attention as much as possible because this relates proportionally into profits made by the big companies and people fall for their strategies. According to the latest available data, the average person spends seven hours per day on screens connected to internet.Another major cause of this circumstance is the volume of free time that each person has. For example Americans today have more free time than earlier generations.Even though our work/school time doubled,our home tasks time minimised - this resulted in more free time overall.On average, every person has 5 hours of leasure time. By not having what to do in this time people use it for browsing the internet,watching a movie etc. I personally think that more free time is better, and I am happy that we don’t have to spend as much time on household activities as we used to because the machines do it for ourselves now (the dishwasher, the washing machine and so on), however these 5 hours of leisure time must be used for our development in a relaxing manner such as reading a book, painting, practicing sports and so forth.Misspending our resources is not o good thing. To sum it all up I strongly believe that managing time is essential and that this will reflect our later succes.