Essay topics: Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

With the technology and medical improvements, the life expectancy is increasing and worldwide population is living longer than ever. While there are some concerns with an older population, such as the strain in the health and pension system, the advantages of a more mature individuals are also appealing. This essay will present the reasons why having an ageing population is actually a possible good deal. For the economic perspective, ageing brings some concerns as the increase of medical expenditure and the need of keep people working until later in life so the pension system works properly. However, the medical improvements experienced nowadays is likely to keep people health for longer, meaning that it will be physically possible for people over 60 share the workforce with youngest individuals. At the same time, if the government and companies invest in education about healthy eating and lifestyle, it is more likely that older people would keep their health in a good condition therefore reducing the necessity of hospitalisation. The advantages of having an ageing population are related to the experience gained by those individuals during their life time and the continuous contribution in the workforce or in the community they can provide. There are some companies that prefer to hire older people due to the knowledge and experience they possess, because of that organisations are saving money and time before dedicated to training new staff. Another amazing contribution of elderly population is their wiliness in expend time contributing to the community by volunteering or even working for organisations that provide community service support. To conclude, ageing is an ongoing process experienced all around the world due to medical evolution. Despite the problems that ageing can cause in the society, the expertise and life experience allied with improvements in the health system allow our elders to positively contribute to the society.