In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that it is the government's responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Healthy citizens play a major role in a country's development. Developed nations are facing an obesity epidemic. Some argue that the relative administration should take necessary steps to curb this issue. I agree that the authority should take ownership and encourage more people to have a healthier lifestyle, but think that parenting is also crucial. On the one hand, children are becoming obese and unhealthy because of increasing adulteration in food, which can only be dealt with by the government. Although this might not be the only problem, it is a major one. Pollutants such as lead and mercury interfere with our metabolism, especially kids whose physical mechanisms are immature, hence increasing weight. In addition, recent studies have shown the link between lead consumption and cancer. The authority should increase the penalty on food businesses found adulterating. Also, there should be frequent visits by the health inspector to all food businesses and restaurants. On the other hand, home is the first school and parents are the first teacher of kids so only parents can have strict control over how much time children can watch TV, as well as what cuisine they should eat. In other words, to tackle the issue of obesity and poor health, parents have to adopt some strategies, such as allocating more time to outdoor games and persuading the young generation to eat more fruits and vegetables. Moreover, it is only the parents who can monitor their kids' routine closely, and motivate them by setting up rewards like sweets or small gifts, if they play more outside and conform to a healthy diet. To conclude, obesity of children and other health issues can be only solved with joint efforts by the government and domestic forces. For the benefit of the next generation, it is both parties’ responsibility to take action.