Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? People have a myriad of views on whether people should work as freelancers or full-time workers in their careers. Due to the flexibility of the working schedule and earnings, there is an increasing trend of self-employment in society. However, we should not overlook the drawbacks of being self-employed, which lead to unstable working environments and difficulties in managing individual financial issues. Of the reasons why individuals are eager to find part-time jobs, the most significant reason is that they can enjoy the freedom of arranging their working schedule, including the decisions on their jobs’ natures and workplaces. ‘ Slash’ is the prime example to show how flexibility can be executed in their work life. Not signing a regular contract with their employers, slashers apply for a variety type of jobs and arrange their holidays and working time, and even refuse the work which they are forced to do. Another reason for the rapid increase in self-employment is that they can enjoy flexible income earnings. The earnings of freelancers depend on how many jobs they have accomplished, which is the same as the principle of ‘the more you work, the more you get’. For instance, craftsmen's income is derived from their handmade crafts. The more products they made, the more income they earn. In this way, freeter can gain autonomy to get a work -life balanced lifestyle. Despite the above reasons for attracting people to become works as freelancers, we should not overlook the disadvantages of being self-employed. Firstly, freelancers usually face unstable working environments, which means that their incomes have fluctuated. Since freelancers usually deal with employers verbally rather than signing agreements, there are common delayed payments. This is in turn freelancers are not gain much protective compare to those full-time workers. Another noticeable drawback is that people who are freelancers are facing difficulties in managing their own individual financial issues, such as applying for mortgages and credit cards. The banks mostly require their applicants to show employment records to prove their stable financial conditions, while freelancers find it hard to show those records. Therefore, it is difficult for them to apply for mortgages to buy properties or even credit cards, and they lose autonomy in their financial planning eventually. Under this line of thinking, due to the flexibility, being self-employed is easier to enjoy a work -life balanced living environment. However, it may lead to unstable in working plans and income and also leads to difficulties in the application of mortgages or related issues, which diminish your freedoms in those aspects.