It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Schools and colleges are the basic building institutions of human life today. They provide us with the information and opportunities needed for our future ambitions and goals. However, many people have different opinions on it. Some of them think that these centres are only engraving academic knowledge that is not useful for practical purposes. I would like to refute this statement and believe that this traditional form of knowledge is still beneficial in multiple ways. Realising the fact that they instilled in us the foundation of higher education as well as the discipline we need for our success later in life, it can be stated with safety that this system should continue. First of all, the subjects we have all learned in school have given us the concepts through which we get to understand the complex scientific concepts which we learn in universities. If we don't learn those topics in childhood, we will not be able to achieve those important degrees at this stage. For instance, in my case, if I would not have learned the basic structures of animals from the lower phylum, I would not have been able to learn human anatomy with grip. So, it can be said with surety that those basics have benefitted me in the long run. Secondly, discipline and punctuality, we learn there are necessary. No other part of life teaches us to respect the time the way, our schools have taught us. It actually moulds us to be punctual and committed from the very beginning, so, we can follow it forever. To conclude, I will say that early education is necessary for all the right reasons. It does not only serve to educate us but provide us with the life skills that are required in the long term. Steps should be taken to inculcate other skills like home management and interpersonal communication in early life but this traditional knowledge should be continued.