Shopping is become more and more popular as leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects? Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its popularity have on individuals and on society?

There are increasing numbers of shopping mall around the world. If you have a chance to go to New York, Tokyo or London..., you will see many mega shopping malls there. One of the reasons why shopping become so popular is we want to show ourselves as rich, have a good life, more beautiful than others. This trend has an impact on individuals and society. Nowadays,many people have the tendency to buy stuff in online shopping and also in shopping mall as well. Firstly, the companies now are trying to advertise more of their new products in order to attract the customer. They advertised everywhere: in the street, on YouTube or on all social media. Secondly, online shopping company knows how to advertise what we need through our online history such as Amazon, they know how to increase selling the product. Everyone wants to prove themselves they are the best and sometimes they buy stuff without any need. Nowadays, we can call the trend of shopping "drug". If we see the young life right now, we will see they consume a lot of things compare with the old generation. Because now we produce a lot of stuff to consume and when they feel lonely or stressed, they will have the tendency to find something to cover up their loneliness or stress. Whenever we buy something, we will feel happy right away because the dopamine will increase after we receive something that we hope. That makes us consume more than we need. To conclude, I think we may to balance our shopping. We have to see do we need it or not before we buy it and we have to see our future through saving money.