Some people believe that children should study all subjects at school, while others think they should only study subjects they are good at or find interesting. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Certain individuals think that children should be taught all subjects while others feel that priority should be given based on interest and ability. This essay agrees with the second viewpoint because that helps the learners to be more grounded and get the best results. To begin with, the first view supports pupils to be given an education on all curricular subjects. Doing so helps them to have a wide array of career choices. It also gives them the opportunity to take time to understand their interests and abilities, which are not always readily evident. For instance, many schools in Africa support the idea of primary and secondary learners concurrently doing courses in sciences and humanities until they reach a certain level of education, to give them time to eventually select what will be their academic and career direction. However, the essay disagrees with this opinion because such learners, due to a higher workload, end up performing badly even in subjects they stood a great chance. On the other hand, therefore, allowing students to only focus on what they most like and are good at is more feasible. The essay inclines more to this thinking because it supports grounding the students to (spend most of their time focusing on) one area and consequently promotes high or improved performance in those areas or subjects. For example, many research studies partly attribute technological advancement in Japan and China to students majoring in one area, like robotics, which helps them to master it and produce magnificent results. In conclusion, the essay fully supports the idea that scholars should only study subjects they are good at or find interesting because this helps them to be more focused and perform highly. This thinking is opposed to children studying all subjects at school because it reduces their overall performance.