Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past, and a lot of people have become used to this. Why is this happening? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

In the new era, the closeness between family members tends to decrease and is gradually becoming a natural something in their life. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors, merits, and demerits of this tendency before concluding that the demerits are weightier. There are two reasons why fewer people gather regularly their families nowadays. First, accompanying technological development, the gap between individuals or generations is significantly increasing. Just need a smartphone, and connecting with family members becomes easier through Chatting, Calling applications, such as Zalo, Viber, and Video Calls, instead of catching a long-distance bus to come back to their hometown, and visit their parents and relatives as they did in the past. Therefore, the proliferation of technological gadgets could be advantageous to individuals to a certain extent, on the one hand. Additionally, the expensive cost of trips to visit their parents and relatives is also a considerable issue when they are burdened with a financial burden. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that this trend could be disadvantageous to individuals. First, the frequent absence of each family member unintentionally creates an invisible barrier in their own home, and it grows steadily over time. The development of technology, including smart devices, anyway, is quite difficult to replace the traditional way that people meet face to face, talk and have dinner together in their own homes. At this moment, the connection really makes sense. Furthermore, the family tradition will gradually be lost to the next generations, including their children and offspring, because their parents do not respect this tradition. Consequently, the kids will not know what their roots are, what family traditions are, and they're like a robot integrated with artificial intelligence. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that a steady decrease in the gathering of family members could have some upsides, I would contend that the downsides it offers are significantly more noted.