In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In several countries, some people say governments should spent large amount of money to prepare new railway tracks for fast types of trains between cities, others think it is better to focus on developing the existing public transport. I personally agree with the first view because trains can create many advantages for society. People who believe large amount of cash should be spent for improvement of existing transport often argue that it is more affordable way to increase the quality of transportation. They believe the technological advancements allow authorities to create better standards in the transportation. Also, it is much faster way than constructing a whole new railway system which it takes less time to reduce the number of problems in public transportation. For example, governments can import or produce eco-friendly buses not only for the sake of minimizing the amount of pollution in the air, but also increasing number of buses on the line. Despite the understandable reasons why people believe money should be spent on current transportation system, I believe construction of new railway lines is better option because one of the advantages of these trains is they can help people to reach their workplace on time. These people can easily avoid the heavy traffic jams. Secondly, it is much safer to travel with trains which usage of this type of transportation can reduce the amount of car accidents on the roads. For example, very fast above ground trains in Tokyo succeed for decreasing the amount of car travels. In conclusion, although it is more difficult and expensive way to improve the quality of public transportation, countries should spend large sums of money for constructing new railway lines for fast trains.