In poor families, teenagers may have to work part-time as well as study. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this for these teenagers.

Working part-time while studying has been a topic of heated debate in recent years. Although this appears advantageous in a number of ways for teenagers, especially for those in poor families, there are some major flaws needed to be considered. On the one hand, experiencing a part-time job may benefit students in many different ways. First, when young people start to work part-time, they will have a chance to widen their perspective and gain more real-life experience. For instance, if teenagers better understand that making money always requires hard work, they will become more grateful for their parents instead of taking everything for granted. Second, working part-time allows the young to learn and practice a variety of skills. In fact, being a waitress or a waiter can enable a young person to hone his or her communication skills by converting with customers on a regular basis. On the other hand, having a part-time job when studying appears harmful to youngsters to a certain extent. The work can cause students to be exhausted and hurt their academic performance. For example, if a student works as a waitress, he or she won't often have adequate time and energy to learn and finish homework since the job requires plenty of physical tasks, resulting in poor academic outcomes. In addition, when making money become too appealing, especially for poor students, they can easily decide to drop out of school or university to spend full time on it. In fact, it can appear advantageous at the beginning, but many youngsters are suffering from low-paying jobs in their later lives due to the lack of a bachelor's degree. To summarize, the trend has many advantages as well as certain disadvantages since it can offer either positive developments or poor academic performance. In my opinion, if young people learn how to manage their time and energy effectively, they can maximize the benefits from it.