More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity has become a protracted conundrum globally. Certain individuals believe that raising the cost of fast food is the solution. This essay totally disagrees with this view because depriving people of fats can lead to other dangerous illnesses. Furthermore, sometimes, obesity is the product of lifestyle, unrelated to fatty products. First and foremost, while raising the prices of takeaways, for example, could lead to reduced consumption, not everyone will fail to access these, and people deprived of fat can develop other conditions, such as mental illnesses. For instance, several studies in Africa find that the shortage of Omega 12 and Vitamin B minerals, which can be obtained from certain fats from takeaways, is the leading cause of depression in the continent. Secondly, it is imprudent to imagine that obesity is only related to fastfood fast-food like fried chips and chicken. It could also result from poor lifestyle choices or realities, such as the lack of exercise and living with chronic stress. For example, it was reported in several media platforms, during the Covid-19 pandemic, that social distancing measures, preventing individuals from their routine exercises, caused them to gain weight. Such media outlets encouraged people to engage in indoor workouts to improve their health. In conclusion, therefore, this essay completely refutes the notion that increasing the prices of weight-causing foodstuffs is the best solution for obesity. While it prevents consumers from purchasing the foodstuffs, it also deprives them from accessing important nutrients, which causes distress to their health. Likewise, increasing weight can also be the product of poor lifestyles, which must be addressed to improve overall well-being.