In the present era, children have fewer responsibilities than in the past. Some people consider this as a positive development, others see it as a negative trend. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Every generation has its own unique quirks, this one being that life is overall easier for everyone, especially children, who now have fewer responsibilities. Some people argue that such a change is bad, others think it is a positive development. In my opinion, the latter is true, my essay will be discussing the argument provided. To begin with, teenagers having less things to worry about may be considered a bad trend, people who go through few hardships usually grow up to be irresponsible, therefore the entire next generation might be worse off than the previous ones. Another thing that comes into play is critical thinking, a child who has everything handed to them on a silver platter is less likely to plan, observe and think for themselves in a tough situation. Many cases can be provided as an example, such as signing contracts, mechanical repairs and etc. Adolescents conditioned to tricky situations through trial and error are more likely to get by in adulthood without major issues, compared to those who have not. Looking at the bright side, children spending their golden years relatively stress free is a great improvement. People who had to worry less in childhood are highly likely to be mentally healthy. Rationally thinking citizens, without any pent up trauma are exactly what society needs in order to function. Another argument for this is that adolescents who do not have to worry about earning money or responsibilities can focus on self improvement and their studies, leading to a much more educated generation. In conclusion, both points of view have a right to exist. Some people think that it is a negative trend, others believe it to be a positive development. As mentioned before downsides and upsides are present, but in my opinion, it is a change in the right direction.